fbpx

The First to Lie by Hank Phillippi Ryan

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN

The New Novel by USA TODAY Bestselling Author and EMMY- Winning Reporter HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN

Released August 4th, 2020

The First To Lie (A Forge Hardcover, ebook, and Macmillan Audio) book will be available worldwide, in digital, print, and audio format, across all platforms!

The First to Lie

We all have our reasons for being who we are―but what if being someone else could get you what you want?
After a devastating betrayal, a young woman sets off on an obsessive path to justice, no matter what dark family secrets are revealed. What she doesn’t know―she isn’t the only one plotting revenge.

An affluent daughter of privilege. A glamorous manipulative wannabe. A determined reporter, in too deep. A grieving widow who has to choose her new reality.

Who will be the first to lie? And when the stakes are life and death, do a few lies really matter?

Bestselling and award-winning author and investigative reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan delivers another twisty, thrilling cat and mouse novel of suspense that will have you guessing, and second-guessing, and then gasping with surprise.

Acclaim for The First To Lie

 “Stellar… Hank Phillippi Ryan could win a sixth Agatha with this one.” Publishers Weekly Starred Review

“Hank Phillippi Ryan is one of my favorite authors of suspense. Her latest, featuring the colliding worlds of a cast of intriguing female characters, is tailor-made for readers who are drawn to taut, propulsive plots with twists that do more than just surprise – they take your breath away. Book clubs will gobble up The First to Lie.” —Sarah Pekkanen, internationally bestselling author of YOU ARE NOT ALONE

“From one of our top thriller writers—a chilling tale of deception and revenge. Filled with sharp insights, The First to Lie is a house of mirrors, taking us on a thrilling ride of dizzying twists and shocking revelations.” —Angie Kim, national bestselling author of MIRACLE CREEK

 “Hank Phillippi Ryan is at the top of her game. The First to Lie is a masterfully twisty tale full of all my favorite things: interesting women, family secrets, and well-plotted revenge. Start reading early, because you will tear through the pages of this breathless, keep-you-up-all-night thriller.” —Jennifer Hillier, award-winning author of JAR OF HEARTS and LITTLE SECRETS

OTHER WORKS BY HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN:

THE MURDER LIST

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN

USA Today Bestseller!  Now a MACAVITY AWARD NOMINEE! Now an ANTHONY AWARD NOMINEE!

Now a MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD NOMINEE! Now an AGATHA NOMINEE!  Best Contemporary Novel BEST OF 2019! Suspense Magazine BEST OF 2019!   The Strand Magazine “An exhilarating thrill ride that keeps you turning pages.. Ryan deftly delivers a denouement as shocking as it is satisfying.”–Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Last Time I Saw You

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA’s office is her ticket to a successful future. Problem is–she’s wrong. And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.
At the Publisher’s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

ABOUT HANK:

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN
Photo Credit: Iden Ford

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN is a USA Today bestselling author of 12 thrillers, winning the most prestigious awards in the genre: five Agathas, three Anthonys, the Daphne, and for THE OTHER WOMAN, the coveted Mary Higgins Clark Award. She is also on-air investigative reporter for Boston’s WHDH-TV, with 37 EMMYs and dozens more journalism honors. Book critics call her “a master of suspense,” “a superb and gifted storyteller,” and she’s the only author to have won the Agatha in four different categories: Best First, Best Novel, Best Short Story and Best Non-Fiction.

Her previous novel, THE MURDER LIST, is an Agatha, Anthony, Macavity and Mary Higgins Clark Award nominee.  NYT bestsellers A.J. Finn says, “exciting, explosive, relentless,” and B.A. Paris says it’s “her best yet.” Hank’s newest novel: the chilling psychological standalone THE FIRST TO LIE. The Publishers Weekly starred review says “Stellar… Hank Phillippi Ryan could win a sixth Agatha with this one” and bestseller Sarah Pekkanen says “Book clubs will gobble it up.”

Hank is a founder of MWA University and past president of National Sisters in Crime. Visit Hank online at HankPhillippiRyan.com, on Twitter @HankPRyan, on Instagram @hankpryan and on Facebook at HankPhillippiRyanAuthor.

To request additional review copies or an interview with Hank Phillippi Ryan, please contact Mickey Mikkelson at Creative Edge Publicity: mickey.creativeedge@gmail.com / 403.464.6925 or Mary Zanor at Regan Communications: mzanor@regancomm.com /  617.488.2893.   

We look forward to the coverage!

Have you read this novel? Want to get your book feature? Contact me! Also, don’t forget to check out my feature on Feedspot’s Top 100 YA Book Blogs!



2 Comments

  1. I enjoyed this post. Hank Phillippi Ryan is such a Great author and she is also very sweet and gracious! Her books sound so intriguing and like very good page turners. I have never read any of her books, but I will be adding her books to my TBR list. Thank you for sharing about her book.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: